The India Diaries asked me for my favourite Diwali memory

Here’s what I said.

“My favorite Diwali memory is from when we lived in bank staff quarters when i was a child. All the moms would be making Diwali sweets and we children would flock like a herd to whichever house it was that was sweet making, eat whatever was being made hot as it came off the stove, have cut throat Rangoli making competitions and get together to make the huge Diwali star that would go up in the center of the compound. I would burst all the crackers that my dad got for me in one evening, then trying to swot a stray cracker off friends to light. Those were the days, festivals were simpler and more joyous. I miss them.”

Read the original here

One thought on “The India Diaries asked me for my favourite Diwali memory

Leave a Reply

